Dragon Recycling | RICOH’s Community Recycling Day

May.20.2019

13 volunteers from the Ricoh (China) Limited and their families, and 5 Shanghai Roots & Shoots’ volunteers came to the Huayi Neighborhood Committee in Changning District to carry out recycling activity on May 19th, 2019. With the cooperation with the residents in Jin Gu Court residential area, we sorted and recycled the rubbish and used items in our daily lives and relieved the solid waste pressure on our Earth.

Since 2018, Ricoh joint our Eco Office Program to audit their office and participated in workshops that raised their employees’ environmental awareness. On this occasion, Ricoh recruited employees internally, together with their family members, to become Green Ambassadors. On that very weekend, they participated in a Dragon Recycling voluntary campaign for the local residents by setting up a Recycling Day. The campaign benefits the community as well as the Earth.

Lots of efforts have been made by the staff of the Huayi Neighborhood Committee in order to encourage residents to participate in activities related to environmental protection. Before the Mother’s Day, the community managers invited Roots & Shoots for a workshop of garbage-sorting. Participants have learnt to properly sort our garbage and reuse them if possible. For example, they turned waste banners into coin pouches.

Our campaign had attracted many local residents. They came and donated their old stuff. Our Recycling Day can help resident recycle 4 kinds of useless things that have high recycling values but cannot be easily handled, including used clothes, used toothbrushes and empty toothpaste tubes, waste electrical and electronic equipment, and expired drugs.

During the day, our volunteer families first gained insights into appropriate trash-sorting. We have discussed the Shanghai garbage classifications of wet, dry, recyclable and harmful. Volunteers worked together to set up the campaign booth and recorded the items sent by local residents.

Eventually, we have collected 73 waste electrical equipment and accessories (around 18.7 kg), 834 used clothes (including blankets and shoes), 36 used toothbrushes, toothpaste and mouth wash packages, and 18.21 kg of expired drugs. These items were distributed to Aihuishou, Lusefang, Terra Cycle respectively for regenerative utilization. Expired drugs were given to the nearby pharmacies.

We welcome all people who are passionate about environmental protection to be part of our Dragon Recycling campaign. Let us be eco-warriors and initiate garbage-sorting in our schools, corporates and communities!

Back To Top

HOW TO GET INVOLVED?

The “PROJECTS YOU MIGHT BE INTERESTED IN” above will guide you to a further understanding of our projects. Besides, you may choose a proper way to get involved as individual volunteers, school groups or enterprise partners.

Get involved today!

Register or support
GO
Message from Dr Goodall

Every individual matters; every individual has a role to play; every individual can make a difference.

回收巨龙 | 理光志愿者进社区,和地球说520

2019年05月20日

2019年5月19日,13名来自理光(中国)投资有限公司的亲子志愿者队以及5名上海根与芽的青年志愿者一同来到长宁区华一居委,携手金谷苑小区的居民为生活中的垃圾和旧物找到合理的去处,为地球减负。

2018年,理光加入上海根与芽的绿色办公室项目,参与到办公室环境评估及员工环保意识倡导等活动之中。此次,理光内部招募了员工家庭,担当起了绿色卫士的角色,利用周末的空余时间为社区居民张罗了一次回收巨龙计划“社区资源收集站”志愿者服务日活动,回馈社区的同时回报地球。

华一居委的工作人员对于鼓励居民参与到环保活动花了不少心思。母亲节前,社区干部邀请了上海根与芽为妈妈们开展了一场关于垃圾分类的工作坊,和地球分享爱。现场,她们除了学习到了正确的垃圾分类知识,还动手改造,利用废旧广告布制作成了小巧的零钱包。

此次“社区资源收集站”吸引到了不少居民的参与,活动刚拉开序幕居民们就纷纷来到小区“厚德园”,排着队有序地将家中各类旧物交给志愿者们。“社区资源收集站”上对居民开放回收四类平时无法及时处理但又有较高回收利用价值的旧物,包括旧衣物、旧牙刷空牙膏管、废旧电子产品、过期药品。

活动当天,志愿者们先集中学习了关于垃圾分类的知识,爸爸妈妈和自己的孩子一起了解上海先行的四色分类政策以及如何将生活中常见的垃圾进行正确地投放,比如榴莲壳、大骨头等不易腐烂的垃圾其实是干垃圾。随后,志愿者们齐心协力,一同布置活动现场,并耐心登记居民送来的旧物。

当天下午,志愿者们收集到了满满当当的战利品,包括73件各类废旧电子产品、小家电及配件(约18.7公斤)、834件旧衣物(含毛毯、旧鞋等)、18.21公斤过期药品、36件牙刷牙膏漱口水瓶及相关包装。这些旧物分别交由爱回收、绿色房、泰瑞环保进行资源化再生处理,而过期药品统一送往就近药房。

欢迎广大热爱环保的青年人一同加入到上海根与芽的回收巨龙计划,无论是学校、企业、社区,都可以一起倡导垃圾分类,做环保英雄,回报地球!

返回页面顶部

如何加入

上方“您可能会感兴趣的项目”可以帮助您了解更多内容,您也可以在这里选择合适的参与类型,无论以是个人志愿者参与,或者寻求企业合作,我们都欢迎您的加入。

赶紧加入我们吧!

进入
根与芽的宗旨

每个人都很重要;每个人都能发挥作用;每个人都能带来变化。