Organic Garden | Cummins Volunteers Support Autism Children’s School Garden

Jun.6.2019

On May 23rd, 2019, it was a hot day. People tended to choose stay at home.

However, a special school for autism has witnessed the coming of a group of volunteers from Shanghai Roots & Shoots and Cummins Inc. They have deep love for environmental sustainability, and at the meantime, they also care about children. Shanghai Roots & Shoots have already helped almost 100 schools build organic garden, and this year is, the leader of corporate responsibility, Cummins Inc.’s 100th anniversary. Today, they will build a firm and nice Square Foot organic Garden.

The pattern of children’s autism mainly involves language disorder, social communication disorder, narrow range of interest, and stereotyped behavior patterns and mental retardation. Children with autism are also called “children from stars”, as they twinkle lonely as stars.

Organic Garden Program is one of the Roots & Shoots participatory environmental education initiatives. Through creating a one-square-foot vegetable and herb garden at the schools, also called Square Foot Garden, this program can improve children’s awareness of environmental sustainability, and they will understand better that people are closely related to the nature. Today, volunteers have provided richer and greener campus environment to children with autism through their actual deeds.

Volunteers built the framework, paved soil, allocated the area, transplanted and watered with carefulness and adherence. This is a process from nothing to a beautiful organic garden. The plants in this garden is full of vitality, which provided more green in the campus to children with autism.

In this seemly small one-square-foot organic garden, children with autism can be closer to the nature, and they can draw this garden through their painting brushes. One foot can be prolonged. One square foot can be enlarged. Shanghai Roots & Shoots hope to provide environmental education to all the children, no matter what age they are and what kind of school they are in. Every child should have the chance to get close to the nature and love the nature!

Back To Top

HOW TO GET INVOLVED?

The “PROJECTS YOU MIGHT BE INTERESTED IN” above will guide you to a further understanding of our projects. Besides, you may choose a proper way to get involved as individual volunteers, school groups or enterprise partners.

Get involved today!

Register or support
GO
Message from Dr Goodall

Every individual matters; every individual has a role to play; every individual can make a difference.

有机农场 | 康明斯志愿者与“来自星星的孩子”共建校园农场

2019年06月06日

2019年5月23日,夏日炎炎,宜宅家。

然而,位于上海的一所康健学校门口迎来了一群来自上海根与芽和美国康明斯的热爱环保、关爱孩子的志愿者们。上海根与芽已经帮助近百所学校建立了有机农场,同时一百周岁的康明斯在企业责任长期处于领先地位。今天,他们要一起为自闭症孩子们建造一个牢固又好看的一米有机菜园。

儿童孤独症,简称孤独症或者自闭症,主要症状涉及语言障碍、社会交往障碍、兴趣范围狭窄和刻板的行为模式、智能障碍。他们也被称为“来自星星的孩子”,如星星一般独自闪烁。

有机农场项目是根与芽参与式环境教育项目之一。通过在校园里建立一平方米大小的蔬菜香草花园,可以提升孩子们的可持续性环保意识,认识到人与自然是息息相关的。今天,志愿者们要通过自己的实际行动,为这些自闭症孩子们带来更丰富、更绿色的校园环境。

搭建、铺土、设计、移植、浇水,志愿者们一往直前又不失小心翼翼。空空荡荡的空间,一步一步诞生了一个漂亮的小菜园。菜园植物的勃勃生机为自闭症孩子们也带来了多一份绿色。

在这个小小的一平方米菜园中,自闭症孩子们可以亲近自然,可以用他们的画笔记录菜园的绿色。从短短的一米延伸,从小小的一平方米拓展,上海根与芽的环境教育希望让每一个孩子,不论年龄,不论学校,不论各种情况,都可以走近自然,都能够热爱自然。

返回页面顶部

如何加入

上方“您可能会感兴趣的项目”可以帮助您了解更多内容,您也可以在这里选择合适的参与类型,无论以是个人志愿者参与,或者寻求企业合作,我们都欢迎您的加入。

赶紧加入我们吧!

进入
根与芽的宗旨

每个人都很重要;每个人都能发挥作用;每个人都能带来变化。