YOUTH LEADERSHIP COUNCIL | Let’s go plogging!

May.8.2019

Background:

Dongtan is at the easternmost part of Chongming Island and is near a national nature reserve. Here, people are the first to welcome sunrise; here, we can encounter migratory birds from places that are far away.

Chongming Dongtan Wetland is the only natural resource land of high quality extant in Shanghai. It covers 326 square kilometers, and was included in the List of Wetlands of International Importance of the Ramsar Convention on Wetlands on February 2nd, 2002. Dongtan is very extensive, possessing a wide range of benthic animals and vegetation resources. It’s the transit station for migratory birds, and the place for aquatic birds to spend the winter. Up to 312 kinds of birds and millions of migratory aquatic birds are recorded in Dongtan. Therefore, wetlands are also called “the cradle of life”, “kidney of the earth”, and “bird paradise.”


What’s new?

On April 20th, a group of young adults came to Dongtan to experience the most fashionable sport in Shanghai — Plogging.

Plogging originated from Sweden. It’s a combination of picking and jogging, as participants pick up litter while jogging. As is known to all, jogging is one of the most convenient kinds of sports. When jogging, the movement of picking litter is similar to squatting, so the muscles of legs and core muscles can get great exercise.

 

Taking gloves and mesh bags, members of Shanghai Roots & Shoots’ Youth Leadership Council were ready for a big fight. Although the members had previously imagined the scenes they might see, the garbage that came into view after they walk down the dam still shocked them. The lower part of the long dam was connected with wetlands and the tidal flat, and different kinds of garbage were all over this place.

 

 

After discussion, the members divided different types of garbage into plastic bottles, styrofoam, domestic waste, and wood. Two members stayed on the dam, and other members categorized garbage according to their types. After picking the garbage, the members pass them to the members on the dam. However, the members of the Youth Leadership Council couldn’t clear all the garbage on the tidal flat in an hour.

 

 

The person in charge of Chongming Dongtan Wetland told us that the floating garbage on the sea are mainly plastic bags, floating pieces of wood, buoy and plastic bottles. There are three main sources: the first one is the storm that washes plastic waste buried in land to the ocean; the second is some people in shipping industry who lack the sense of environmental protection pouring plastic waste into the ocean; the third one is maritime accidents—when cargo ships run into storms at sea and the containers on the deck fall into the water, the plastic products in the containers will be wandering in the ocean.

We should always take action by ourselves to reduce the creation of garbage and repel the “white evil” in the ocean.

 

Back To Top

HOW TO GET INVOLVED?

The “PROJECTS YOU MIGHT BE INTERESTED IN” above will guide you to a further understanding of our projects. Besides, you may choose a proper way to get involved as individual volunteers, school groups or enterprise partners.

Get involved today!

Register or support
GO
Message from Dr Goodall

Every individual matters; every individual has a role to play; every individual can make a difference.

上海根与芽青年智囊团 | 环保新风尚,来东滩一起plogging

2019年05月08日

这里位于崇明岛的最东侧;

这里毗邻国家级自然保护区;

这里是最早迎接日出的地方;

这里可以邂逅远到而来的候鸟;

这里就是东滩!

崇明东滩湿地是上海市目前仅存的优质自然资源,面积为326平方公里,2002年2月2日(国际湿地日)被正式列入“拉姆萨国际湿地保护公约”的国际重要湿地名录。东滩滩涂辽阔,拥有丰富的底栖动物和植被资源,是候鸟迁徙途中的集散地,也是水禽的越冬地。崇明东滩记录的鸟类达312种,迁徙水鸟上百万只。因此湿地被称为“生命的摇篮”、“地球之肾”和“鸟类的乐园”。

4月20日,一群年轻人来这里,体验最时髦的魔都新运动——Plogging。

Plogging起源于瑞典,是Picking和Jogging的合体,简单的说就是边跑边捡垃圾。众所周知,跑步是最便捷的运动方式之一,而在跑步的过程中,捡垃圾的动作类似于深蹲,双腿的肌肉和核心肌群能得到很好的锻炼。

拿上手套和网带,青年智囊团的团员们准备大干一场,虽然已经提前预想过眼前可能产生的景象,但走下大坝所见的垃圾还是让团员们大吃一惊。长长的大坝下连接着湿地和滩涂,在此之间遍布着各类垃圾。

经过讨论后,团员将垃圾类型分为:塑料瓶,塑料泡沫,生活垃圾,木头。安排两位团员留在大坝上,其他组员根据垃圾类型分组,各自去捡拾垃圾后,将垃圾传送给停留在大坝上的团员。

整整1个小时的时间,智囊团依然没有完全清理完滩涂上的垃圾。堤坝上行走也十分困难,有一些垃圾实在无法分类只能暂时留在滩涂上。

崇明东滩湿地的负责人告诉我们:海面漂浮垃圾主要为塑料袋、漂浮木块、浮标和塑料瓶等。主要有三个来源,一是暴风雨把陆地上掩埋的塑料垃圾冲到大海里;二是海运业中的少数人缺乏环境意识,将塑料垃圾倒入海中;第三就是各种海损事故,货船在海上遇到风暴,甲板上的集装箱掉到海里,其中的塑料制品就会成为海上“流浪者”。

要减少垃圾的产生,只用从我做起,从细节做起,才能击退海洋中的“白色恶魔”!

返回页面顶部

如何加入

上方“您可能会感兴趣的项目”可以帮助您了解更多内容,您也可以在这里选择合适的参与类型,无论以是个人志愿者参与,或者寻求企业合作,我们都欢迎您的加入。

赶紧加入我们吧!

进入
根与芽的宗旨

每个人都很重要;每个人都能发挥作用;每个人都能带来变化。