The Million Tree Project

Jan.12.2018

A MILLION TREES TO A GREENER CHINA

07-08林地西南@20120716
2007-2008 Poplar site

The Shanghai Roots & Shoots Million Tree Project (MTP), which began in 2007, aims to raise community awareness of the Earth’s precious environment while focusing on steps individuals can take to lessen their negative impact on the natural world. MTP is designed to improve both ecological and humanitarian conditions by planting trees. The project gives individuals and organizations an opportunity to fight climate change by planting oxygen-producing trees. It also encompasses true capacity building as the local population is intimately involved with, and benefits from, every step of planting, maintaining and monitoring the trees.

clips taken from MTP videos were featured in the Rio Olympics Opening Ceremony video, August 2016

Location and Goals

In 2017, MTP started working in both Inner Mongolia and Ningxia.

Inner Mongolia Program

The combined effects of the climate change and land exploitation (such as overgrazing and over-farming) have degraded the land of Tongliao Municipality, Inner Mongolia, and the now desertified area is expanding at an astonishing rate. Sandstorms strike Inner Mongolia and its surrounding areas each spring, destroying local homes and forcing many people to flee their native land. This project will reforest the area in order to revitalize the land and block the sandstorms.

  • Types of Trees Planted

We primarily plant hybrid poplars (Populus simonii), which are particularly effective at sequestering carbon and do not require large amounts of water.  Local forestry experts, in combination with experts from Oregon State University in the United States, have deemed this species suitable for the local soil and climate.  In 2009 we also planted several plots of yellowhorn trees (Xanthoceras sorbifolia). Yellowhorn seeds contain twice the amount of oil as soybeans, and can be used for both cooking and industrial purposes. This species has a long history of successful growth in the region and will yield both economic and ecological benefits. In 2011 we began planting pine trees (Pinus sylvestnis var. mongolica Litv.) which have proven suitable for fighting desertification in nearby areas. In 2012, poplars and pines were inter-planted to increase biodiversity and reduce the risk of large scale pest disaster.

MTP intro 2

from left to right: yellow horns/pines/

poplars (investigation by forestry specialists)/tree height measuring (by local students)

  • Local Involvement

Local farmers and tree planters help plant, monitor, and maintain the trees growing on their land. The farmers are licensed to harvest the trees that have reached maturity, but only on the condition that they replant on the same plot. During the trees’ infancy, local farmers are encouraged to interplant crops such as beans, millet, watermelons etc., for extra income, benefiting biodiversity and providing nutrition for the trees at the same time.

Shanghai Roots & Shoots also works with the local government to engage local students, encouraging them to get involved by measuring the growth of the trees, assessing ecological conditions, and creating a database for long-term project development.

Ningxia Program

The Ningxia program is located in Baijitan Reserve, Lingwu, Ningxia Hui Autonomous Region, at the southwest margin of Maowusu desert, where the natural ecosystem and species like mongolian ammopiptanthus are in need of conservation and restoration. The annual rainfall is approximately 200mm, while the evaporation capacity is 2862.2mm with vegetation coverage at less than 10%. Desertification is caused by a complex set of environmental and anthropogenic factors that have been at work over long periods of time and are now threatening critical infrastructure and farmland in the Yellow River corridor. MTP’s effort would help stop the Maowusu desert from expanding, while improving the ecosystem and lessening the economic impact of desertification to Yellow River corridor region.

  • Local Involvement

Cooperating with Baijitan tree farm, which has great experience in desertification control projects, we have adopted an integrative method of controlling sand movement by planting a mix of shrubs and constructing massive straw grids that complement the local conditions. The massive straw grid is able to reduce the sand lost by increasing the terrain’s roughness while also slowing down evaporation and improving the soil moisture to ensure the survival of the shrubs and grass planted. Compared with trees, shrubs form a more dynamic soil protection system due to their many branches above the ground and extended roots beneath. This provides a solid foundation for soil development and restoration of vegetation diversity. Calligonum, Caragana and Hedysarum Scoparium were selected as the main species because of their suitability to the local environment. Our goal is to gradually immobilize the moving sand dunes and rehabilitate the ecosystem through restoration of native vegetation. The demand for straw is met by local communities nearby, which generates extra income for the local population. The locals also benefit from working on grid establishment, seed collection, and planting activities.

In cooperation with local partners, MTP started a pilot project in the spring of 2015, and has been monitoring the project’s progress ever since. One and a half years after planting, the indigenous grasses and shrubs have already started to revive the local ecosystem. In 2017, MTP has dedicated even more efforts and resources to working on our project in Ningxia, joining forces with the locals to fight desertification.

Technical Expertise

Shanghai Roots & Shoots cooperates with the Department of Forest Science’s Nursery Technology Cooperative at Oregon State University, USA. Our full-time forestry managers, with their academic background in forestry and agriculture, ensure continued success by working on-site to evaluate the technical aspects of how the plants are growing, including: soil evaluation, viability of the saplings, watering regimens, intercropping practices, and local community support. Regular observation and annual investigations are conducted by forestry managers to provide data for reliable forest reports in the long term.

Apr Trip by Brain (14)_副本

Get Involved

Inner Mongolia Program

  • Every year, Shanghai Roots & Shoots staff, volunteers, and sponsors who support forests travel to Inner Mongolia to plant trees with local farmers. The trips are scheduled in April to coincide with the best poplar planting season and last 4 days and 3 nights. Activities include tree planting, pruning and visiting the desert. Participants must be 16 or older, and are responsible for trip expenses. If you would like to know how to get involved in the tree planting trips, please contact us for more information.

MTP intro 1

Ningxia Program

  • 5,000 shrubs, covering about 16,666 m2, can help fight desertification and ecosystem reconstruction, and benefits the locals as well as offsetting the CO2 emitted from work and life. This sends participants a strong message that we are trying to reduce environmental impact. If you would like to know how shrubs contribute to our desertified lands, or if you would like to know more about how to get involved, please contact us.

Apr Trip by Brain (18)_副本

Contact us to get involved:

info@mtpchina.org

Project Webpage:

www.mtpchina.org

 

Back To Top

OUR PROJECTS

For more information, please visit “Our Projects”, or choose the “PROJECTS YOU MIGHT BE INTERESTED IN” page.

Get involved today!

Register or support
GO
Message from Dr Goodall

Every individual matters; every individual has a role to play; every individual can make a difference.

百万植树计划

2018年01月12日

07-08林地西南@20120716

简介

上海根与芽青少年活动中心(以下简称“上海根与芽”)百万植树计划始于2007年,致力于唤起大众环保意识,号召个人参与行动,以减少对自然环境的负面影响。项目通过植树造林,兼顾生态与人道主义救助的双重使命。一方面,为个人和组织提供了参与抵御全球气候变化的机会;另一方面,项目的各个环节都能够帮助当地居民从中获益。项目接受企业、机构及个人的捐赠,先后有300多家企业和机构,数以万计的个人志愿者给予了百万植树计划长年的支持。

项目进展与成就

十年树木,项目至今已完成200万棵树的种植,林地覆盖内蒙古通辽市的库伦旗和科尔沁左翼后旗,总面积近1800公顷。十年前在荒漠中种下的小树苗现已枝繁叶茂,绿树成荫,林地生态系统的恢复和重建已呈现出较为明显的成效。

项目的成绩也得到了国际的认可和关注,2016里约奥运会开幕式上播放的环保宣传片中采用了项目志愿者在内蒙植树造林的劳作场景,以唤醒全球对环境问题的重视,呼唤民众采取行动。而我们的脚步仍在继续。2017年开始,除了继续推进内蒙古生态林及碳汇林的种植外,项目将拓展到宁夏,在毛乌素沙地开展治沙生态恢复工程。

百万植树计划志愿者内蒙植树的场景出现在里约奥运会开幕式播放的环保短片中,2016年8月

项目位置及目标

2017年开始,百万植树计划将同时在内蒙古及宁夏两地展开。

内蒙古生态林建设

在温室效应、过度放牧与耕种等因素的共同作用下,内蒙古通辽市地区水土流失严重,沙化速度惊人。每年春天,位于中国四大沙地之一——科尔沁沙地南缘的通辽市及周边地区都会遭受沙尘天气的侵袭,当地居民的房屋和农田被破坏,被迫迁徙。因此,百万植树计划选择在当地采取植树造林,来增加植被覆盖率,重塑健康的生态系统以抵御荒漠化侵蚀。

  • 树种

杂交杨树是项目的主要树种,能适应当地土壤和气候环境,有较好的成活率,并能吸收大量二氧化碳,此树种也受到了当地林业专家与美国俄勒冈州立大学林业学院的肯定。2009年,项目种植了一批文冠果。文冠果的种子含有相当于大豆所含两倍的油,可用于烹饪和工业用途。这种产油植物在该地区有成功种植的悠久历史,并将会带来生态和经济效益的双丰收。2011年,我们开始种植樟子松,这种松树在周边地区被证实在抵御沙化方面有很好的效果。2012年,项目将杂交杨树与樟子松进行了间种,以增加林地内物种的多样性,降低爆发大型病虫害的几率。

MTP intro 2

从左至右:文冠果/樟子松/杂交杨树(图为林业专员进行测量维护)/学生协助测量树高

  • 当地参与

当地的农牧民在协议的土地内种植并养护树木,成材后他们将拥有林地的林权。在树木生长期间,农牧还能在土地上间植农作物和牧草,如大豆、小米、西瓜等,以获取额外的收入,同时促进树木的生长。

当地农牧民会参与并协助完成植树及养护的各个环节。此外,上海根与芽与当地政府部门紧密合作,鼓励当地居民和青年学生通过各种方式,积极参与到项目中。比如:学习生态环境知识,测量树木的生长速度,帮助建立长期数据库等。

宁夏治沙生态恢复工程

项目地位于宁夏回族自治区灵武市白芨滩保护区内,中国四大沙地之一毛乌素沙地的西南端,当地气候主要为温带干旱气候,主要保护对象为第三纪荒漠植物区系的残遗种沙冬青及其典型的荒漠生态系统结构。项目区年降雨量约为200mm左右,年蒸发量为2862.2mm,植被覆盖度不及10%。当地的沙漠化问题是一系列环境与人为因素长期共同作用的结果,已对黄河走廊的基础设施及农田造成了威胁。百万植树计划在该地区进行生态恢复工程,有助于阻挡毛乌素沙地的移动,改善灵武周边的生态环境,减轻沙漠化对黄河走廊经济发展的影响。

  • 当地合作

此次的当地合作方为灵武市白芨滩防沙林场,林场有成熟的治沙技术及丰富的治沙经验。由于当地自然条件限制,无法进行传统的造林作业,而采用灌木、草本混种并搭配草方格的模式进行治沙。草方格沙障,一方面增大地表粗糙度,降低气流的输沙能力,另一方面截留水分,提高了沙层含水量,是种植固沙植被的必要基础和成活保障。灌木相对于乔木具有更为耐旱、耐风沙等特点,发达的根系及茂密的枝条能有效形成屏障风阻,拦截植物种子,为土壤发育和植物群落多样性的恢复提供了重要保障。项目遵循因地制宜,适地适树的原则,充分考虑生态和经济等各方面效益,倾听当地人和专家的多方建议,目前种植的灌木及草本种类包括:花棒、柠条、沙拐枣及沙蒿。采用灌木搭配草方格的治沙方式,能有效促进原生植被恢复,逐步固定流动沙丘,重建生态系统。同时,项目的开展也为当地农民提供了增加收入的机会,贩卖秸秆及在农闲时期参与到扎制草方格及种植、养护灌木的各个环节皆可以为当地农民带来一定经济收益。

技术专家及政府合作

上海根与芽与美国俄勒冈州立大学林业学院植被管理研究合作开发中心就项目涉及的专业知识展开了紧密合作;同时,我们在当地派驻了两名全职林业技术人员,他们具有林业和农业的专业背景,在当地直接参与监督和评估树木的生长情况,探索农林合作的最佳方式,以确保项目的可靠性和持续成功。

在此特别感谢上海市社会团体管理局、上海市精神文明建设委员会办公室、通辽市政府、通辽市林业局、库伦旗政府、库伦旗林业局、库伦旗团委、科左后旗林业局、宁夏白芨滩自然保护区等各单位和众位专家对于百万植树计划的支持和指导。

Apr Trip by Brain (14)_副本

项目参与形式

个人、学校及企业可选择参与位于内蒙及宁夏的项目,助力改善当地生态系统,阻止沙漠化蔓延,造福居民,并抵消生活、生产或办公中所产生的碳排放,为改善环境延缓全球变暖贡献一份力量。

  • 内蒙古项目

ž 每年,上海根与芽员工和志愿者前往内蒙古和当地居民一起种植树木。植树行程定于每年最适宜种植杨树的时节——四月,持续大约4天3夜,活动内容包括植树、修枝、走访沙漠等。具体的参与形式请联系上海根与芽办公室。

  • 宁夏项目

项目在当地借助扎制草方格的治沙方式,以保证灌木的成活率及整体的生态恢复。在完成造林后,具有林业和农业专业背景的百万植树计划全职技术人员将持续性地参与监督和评估生态恢复情况,以确保项目的可靠性及可持续性。参与项目的企业、学校的代表将有机会前往宁夏亲身参与治沙工程,实地扎制草方格,种植灌木,了解当地的荒漠化情况及项目进展。具体的参与形式请联系上海根与芽办公室。

Apr Trip by Brain (18)_副本

欲了解更多内容,欢迎联系我们:MTP官网  以及项目团队咨询邮箱:info@mtpchina.org。

返回页面顶部

如何加入

上方“您可能会感兴趣的项目”可以帮助您了解更多内容,您也可以在这里选择合适的参与类型,无论以是个人志愿者参与,或者寻求企业合作,我们都欢迎您的加入。

赶紧加入我们吧!

进入
根与芽的宗旨

每个人都很重要;每个人都能发挥作用;每个人都能带来变化。