Organic Garden

Jan.16.2018

Introduction

Organic Garden Program, founded in 2006, is one of the Roots & Shoots participatory environmental education initiatives. It aims at building vegetable and herb gardens at schools and involving students in the process to teach them about sustainable agriculture and organic gardening. The entire process is done without using chemical fertilizers, pesticides, synthetic growth hormones nor GMOs (Genetically Modified Organisms).

0914AIA崇明农场游21

Goal

Roots & Shoots Organic Garden is a place that nurtures hope. Through hands-on involvement with organic agriculture, students will understand its importance on the human community and be able to apply such skills in real life to better the environment near them.

Project Impact

As of January 2018, 90 local and international schools ranging from kindergartens to universities in the Yangtze River Delta region have built organic gardens on campus. The program also published the Organic Garden Curriculum, Earthworm Compost Pamphlet, Planting Cards, Organic Garden Diary, and other resources to help students establish their own gardens. In 2010, former U.S. Secretary of State Madeleine Albright visited Hanghua First Primary School’s organic garden; in 2011 former U.S. Ambassador Gary Locke visited Jinzhou Primary School organic garden; in 2017, US Ambassador Terry Branstad and US Consul General Sean B. Stein visited Minli High School. All of them highly praised the school gardens and the organic gardening projects taking place in respective schools.

Organic Garden Training 

Shanghai Roots & Shoots organizes six organic garden trainings each year (three in each semester) for teachers in participating schools and volunteers. The training will allow participants to understand the meaning of organic and learn hands-on organic gardening techniques. Participants will gain a more comprehensive understanding of how to build an organic garden at their schools and how to effectively manage it.

Organic Farm Tour

Shanghai Roots & Shoots also organizes organic farm tours for student and corporate groups to experience the beauty of organic farms. Away from the hustle and bustle of the city, participants can clear their minds and enjoy the peace and tranquility that nature brings.

Schools with existing Roots & Shoots groups can directly apply to participate in this program. After receiving the application, Organic Garden Program will contact the applicant and provide training, curriculum, seeds, and a volunteer to help the school start the garden.

If the school doesn’t have a Roots & Shoots group, the school has to register  with Shanghai Roots & Shoots first (Registration Form) . After registration, the group can then grow the garden.

Corporate Involvement Adopt-A-Garden

Corporations can participate in the Adopt-A-Garden program to both achieve corporate social responsibility and fully involve staff in community service to help them understand the importance of organic farming on the environment. During the cooperation (usually a year), not only will the school receive professional gardening tools, seasonal seedlings and high quality soil, participating students and volunteers will also get professional training. Shanghai Roots & Shoots will organize an organic farm tour for the participating corporation.

Adopt-A-Garden Case Study: Disney Earth Day

Individual Involvement

Individuals can apply to become organic garden volunteers. Shanghai Roots & Shoots will recruit volunteers every February, March, August and September on our website or WeChat page. A volunteer’s main job is to teach weekly/biweekly organic garden lessons at assigned local school for a minimum of one semester to assist students in building and maintaining the garden. The Organic Garden team will interview to select appropriate volunteers. All finalized volunteers will be given relevant training and get assigned to a school organic garden. At the end of the semester, the Organic Garden team will evaluate and recognize outstanding volunteers based on school performance feedback.

Download:OG Mentor Application

The Gift That Keeps Giving

With enough care and love the garden will bear fruit of students’ hard work. Students can share their harvest from the garden with their friends or hold a charity vegetable sale at the school.

Of course, witnessing the improvement of the school environment due to their hard work is the most rewarding gift for the students, teachers and volunteers.

For more information, please call (021) 63523580 -816 or email ben@srschina.org .

Back To Top

OUR PROJECTS

For more information, please visit “Our Projects”, or choose the “PROJECTS YOU MIGHT BE INTERESTED IN” page.

Get involved today!

Register or support
GO
Message from Dr Goodall

Every individual matters; every individual has a role to play; every individual can make a difference.

有机农场项目

2018年01月16日

简介

有机农场项目是根与芽参与式环境教育项目之一。项目始于2006年,通过在校园内建立蔬菜香草花园,同学们将享受到可持续园艺的乐趣,并学习有机的种植方法,比如不使用化肥、农药、合成激素以及转基因种子。

0914AIA崇明农场游21

项目影响力

截止至2018年1月,已有90所学校建立了自己的校园有机农场,包括分布在长三角地区的本地学校及国际学校。参与学生范围从幼儿园一直到大学。上海根与芽自2006年起陆续编辑出版了《有机农场教材》、蚯蚓农场单页、作物种植卡、《有机农场日记》等教学刊物以帮助学生成功地开展有机农场项目。2010年,美国前国务卿奥尔布赖特参访航华第一小学的有机农场;2011年,美国前驻华大使骆家辉参访金洲小学的有机农场;2017年,美国驻华大使布兰斯塔德先生和美国驻上海总领事谭森先生访问民立中学,均给出高度赞誉。

有机农场培训

上海根与芽每年会为项目参与学校的老师和志愿者组织六次有机农场培训(春、秋学期各三次)。通过该培训,参与者将了解有机的内涵,实践并掌握有机种植的基本技能,同时对有机农场建立相对全面的认识,从而帮助他们有效地建立和管理校园有机农场。

有机农场游

上海根与芽也为学生团体或公司团体策划并组织有机农场游,带大家领略隐居于城市中的有机农场。农夫们精心地呵护着一草一木,他们日出而作,日落而息,用健康有机的方式,实践着人与自然的融合。那里有生机勃勃的作物,活泼可爱的动物,形态各异的昆虫,更有美轮美奂的农场夕阳。远离城市的喧嚣,让我们回归内心的平静与真实。

学校参与

已成立根与芽小组的学校可以直接申请参与本项目。通过资质审核后,有机农场项目组会联系申请人,并为学校提供相应培训、项目指导、教材、作物种子及志愿者导师。

如果学校尚未成立根与芽小组,则需要先在上海根与芽申请注册(小组注册表);注册后,即可提出申请。

公司参与(认领校园有机农场)

公司可以赞助并认领一所学校的校园有机农场,在实现企业社会责任的同时,让员工通过充分参与该项目——和学生一起播种、浇水、除草和收获——亲身体会有机种植方式对环境的重要性。在合作期间(通常为一年),不仅学校会获得更专业的农艺工具和更多的当季种苗,有机农场的土壤质量会得到更大的改善,而且参与照顾农场的学生和志愿者也将有机会接受针对性的专业培训。此外,上海根与芽也会为认领校园农场的公司组织一次有机农场游。

认领校园有机农场案例: 迪士尼地球日

个人参与

个人可以通过申请成为有机农场志愿者导师来参与有机农场项目。上海根与芽通常于每年的二月、三月及八月、九月通过上海根与芽官网、微信公众号公开招募志愿者。志愿者的主要工作内容为:每周或每两周前往一所配对的本地学校,辅导学生建立和管理校园有机农场项目,并开展符合学校特色的有机农场绿色课程,服务周期至少为一学期。有机农场项目组将会通过一轮面试来筛选合适的志愿者。项目组会为通过面试的志愿者其安排对应的培训,并将其派遣到指定的校园有机农场定期辅导。每学期末,项目组也将根据学校的反馈和志愿者的工作表现,统一进行评估并对优秀志愿者予以奖励。

有机农场项目志愿者申请下载

意义非凡的礼物

只要悉心照料,校园有机农场就会呈现出一派丰收的景象。与朋友们共同分享这丰收的成果和喜悦吧——在学校开展一场爱心义卖,或是包装成蔬菜花束赠送给亲朋好友!

当然,与农场共同成长的经历,见证校园环境在大家共同的努力下逐渐改善的过程,才是有机农场送给所有参与者最为意义非凡的礼物!

欲了解更多项目信息,请拨打(021) 63523580-816 咨询或发送邮件至ben@srschina.org

返回页面顶部

如何加入

上方“您可能会感兴趣的项目”可以帮助您了解更多内容,您也可以在这里选择合适的参与类型,无论以是个人志愿者参与,或者寻求企业合作,我们都欢迎您的加入。

赶紧加入我们吧!

进入
根与芽的宗旨

每个人都很重要;每个人都能发挥作用;每个人都能带来变化。