YES | Mentor Training Review – Spring 2019

May.8.2019

On the morning of February 16th, volunteers for the YES project (Youth for Environmental Sustainability) and I gathered at 666 Fuzhou Road for a full-day training session organized by Shanghai Roots & Shoots. The day kicked off with ice breakers, followed by the Roots & Shoots organization introduction, class demonstrations, teaching skills workshops, and sample courses. The event was a success. As a participant, I found this to be a rewarding experience. I was amazed not only by what I learned but also by those whom I met.

During the training session, we learned about the founding of the Roots & Shoots organization, the various projects hosted by Roots & Shoots, as well as the teaching philosophies upheld by Roots & Shoots. The powerpoints and materials provided great support to the volunteers. Roots & Shoots emphasizes the importance of interactive learning models, especially those involving the five senses. As we learned, humans can only perceive 7% of auditory information. This remarkably small figure inspires us to also engage students through sight, taste, smell, and touch. Finally, nearing the end of the day we had the opportunity to practice these methodologies by leading the class through a sample course. The Roots and Shoots classroom allowed us to deepen our understanding of these less common teaching tools, further proving that the best learning outcomes are the result of an actively engaged classroom.

Even if the training only lasted one day, and I was only starting to get to know my fellow volunteers, it was a pleasure to also meet with plants and animals specialists on the Roots & Shoots team. I still have so much to learn from them.

This is just the beginning of my journey with Roots & Shoots and I look forward to their future activities!

 

Volunteer: Qile Chen

February 18, 2019

Back To Top

HOW TO GET INVOLVED?

The “PROJECTS YOU MIGHT BE INTERESTED IN” above will guide you to a further understanding of our projects. Besides, you may choose a proper way to get involved as individual volunteers, school groups or enterprise partners.

Get involved today!

Register or support
GO
Message from Dr Goodall

Every individual matters; every individual has a role to play; every individual can make a difference.

绿色青年行动 | 绿色导师培训回顾-2019春

2019年05月08日

2月16日上午,根与芽YES计划志愿者相聚在福州路666号,举行为期一天的课程培训。从破冰环节,组织内容介绍,课程演示,再到课堂技巧传授,样板课环节,流程流畅,内容扎实,体验深刻。作为培训的参与者,如果用一句话总结这一天的课程,就是:收获颇丰。

收获在于两方面:课程内容以及志愿者伙伴们,每一部分都让人惊叹。

通过培训了解了根与芽的成立初衷,根与芽的各项计划以及根与芽的教学理念,,在课程设计上,根与芽已经为志愿者们做了很详细的准备工作,材料包,演示文稿都给了志愿者很大程度上的支持。教学理念上,根与芽强调体验式互动教学,强调五感的重要性,人类对于语言的吸收程度只有7%,这个数字足以让人惊叹,更提醒着我们需要更多的关注到视觉,味觉,嗅觉,触觉。在样板课的环节,也就是汇报演出环节啦,亲身体验下做老师的感受,真实的现场教学状况扑面而来,让我们对刚才老师教授的技巧有了更多的体悟,更加验证了那句:在体验中学习是吸收程度最高的学习。

培训只有一天,在这短暂的时间里还没有机会让大家互相了解,却已经发现了对植物,对动物特别有研究的专家级老师,志愿者团队本身也是一个巨大的教学库。

这是根与芽相识的开始,后续让人期待。

志愿者:陈其乐

2019年2月18日

 

 

 

返回页面顶部

如何加入

上方“您可能会感兴趣的项目”可以帮助您了解更多内容,您也可以在这里选择合适的参与类型,无论以是个人志愿者参与,或者寻求企业合作,我们都欢迎您的加入。

赶紧加入我们吧!

进入
根与芽的宗旨

每个人都很重要;每个人都能发挥作用;每个人都能带来变化。