YES | Spring Carnival

May.3.2018

In early spring, Shanghai Roots & Shoots (R&S) was honorably invited by Shanghai Disney Resort to participate in the “Praise the Earth” Spring Carnival. On the beautiful lawn of the Disney Town by the lake, R&S prepared a variety of interactive games, such as The Adventures of Caterpillar, The Smiling Leaves, The Journey of Migratory Birds, and Worm 123.

In the “Adventures of Caterpillar” session, children were able to learn about the four stages of metamorphosis eggs, caterpillars, cocoons  and imagines like butterflies or moths. Magnifying glasses were used on site to aid observing living silkworms. The complete metamorphosis of butterflies will help the children understand the importance of these insects in nature.

The “Smiling Leaves” made the children first observe all kinds of leaves of different shapes such as the oval, the linear, and the lanceolate. Then the children were asked to stick or draw a pair of eyes, a nose and a mouth on one leaf. How creative the children were to create the smiling leaves.

The”Journey of Migratory Birds” was a board game designed by R&S, simulating both dangers and opportunities that the migratory birds would have during migration. Through the game, children were able to learn the roles that wetlands play for the migratory birds. For the birds, it seems increasingly urgent to call on environmental protection.

Worm 123” should be one of the most popular games during the whole carnival. Our volunteers introduced to the children about the 3 preconditions for being insects which are ONE pairs of antennae, TWO pairs of wings, THREE pairs of legs. The children were asked to identify insects from a variety of creatures. We were all very happy because the children learned about how to identify insects meanwhile improving their identification capability.

 

It soon came to the end of the 10-day Carnival though, the feeling of exhaustion was quickly swept away by the laughter of the children and participants. We are all looking forward to the carnival of next year.

Back To Top

HOW TO GET INVOLVED?

The “PROJECTS YOU MIGHT BE INTERESTED IN” above will guide you to a further understanding of our projects. Besides, you may choose a proper way to get involved as individual volunteers, school groups or enterprise partners.

Get involved today!

Register or support
GO
Message from Dr Goodall

Every individual matters; every individual has a role to play; every individual can make a difference.

绿色青年行动 | 上海根与芽的春日嘉年华

2018年05月03日

春光明媚的4月,上海根与芽十分荣幸地受上海迪士尼度假区邀请,参加了 “赞颂地球”春日嘉年华活动,活动地点就在美丽的迪士尼湖畔小镇的草坪上。为了这次活动,上海根与芽精心准备了多种多样的互动游戏,有毛毛虫历险记,爱笑的树叶,候鸟的旅程,虫虫123等等主题。

在“毛毛虫历险记”,孩子们学习了解毛毛虫从虫卵到蝴蝶的蜕变过程,还用放大镜观察活的蚕宝宝,根与芽希望帮助孩子了解蝴蝶的完全变态过程以及如何保护蝴蝶,并锻炼孩子的观察能力。

在“爱笑的树叶”活动中里,孩子们可以观察各种各样的落叶,根与芽的志愿者还会给孩子介绍叶子的各种各样不同的形状,如卵形,线性,披针形。孩子们还动手给叶子贴上眼睛鼻子嘴巴,创造出一张张不同的笑脸,发挥孩子们的创造力。

“候鸟的旅程”是一款根与芽自主设计的桌游,模拟候鸟在迁徙的过程中会遇到的各种危险和机会,通过游戏孩子们了解了湿地对于候鸟的重要性,以及环境保护的紧迫性,根与芽的志愿者们都特别欣慰。

“虫虫123”应该是此次活动最受欢迎的一个项目,根与芽志愿者先讲解知识点,就是昆虫必须符合的3个条件,包括1对触须,2对翅膀,3对足,然后让孩子根据卡片里的虫虫来辨别是否是昆虫。这个游戏,孩子参与特别积极,甚至大家开始抢答,我们特别开心因为孩子们不仅了解了昆虫,还发现他们的辨识能力都很厉害。

10天的嘉年华很快就过去了,疲惫的感觉被小朋友和大朋友的笑声一扫而空,我们期待明年再次相遇相见。

返回页面顶部

如何加入

上方“您可能会感兴趣的项目”可以帮助您了解更多内容,您也可以在这里选择合适的参与类型,无论以是个人志愿者参与,或者寻求企业合作,我们都欢迎您的加入。

赶紧加入我们吧!

进入
根与芽的宗旨

每个人都很重要;每个人都能发挥作用;每个人都能带来变化。